The Great Gatsby

the-great-gatsby-by-beckisaurusrexx

Finally caught the movie last night with Joyce & Yiwei (: I have to admit that I have never read the book before, although it’s a classic & I have heard of it countless of times before. It has been the studied text for O/A Levels etc etc for literature students before, I think. I didn’t get to do it when I took literature for O’s though, we did Joy Luck Club & Macbeth instead & I loved every single bit of it. Lit was the only subject I studied voluntarily for in secondary 4, hahaha.

Anyway, I decided to watch the movie with a clean slate of mind and absolutely no knowledge of its in-depth meanings and everything else. Sometimes, I like to read up a little bit online before I watch something but just not this time. It’s a different kind of experience though, discovering things which amazes you later on, , because suddenly the numerous repeated references all makes sense.

The film wasn’t entertaining per-say for a movie, although I was consistently trying to figure out at the back of my mind possible symbolism, themes and metaphors it was trying to portray. The main core of the movie’s theme on the American dream wasn’t too hard to figure out, but all the others I have discovered after reading Sparknotes (which is so old-school Wiki for lit students) has just made me absolutely mind blown.

“He had one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance in it, that you may come across four or five times in life. It faced, or seemed to face, the whole external world for an instant and then concentrated on you with an irresistible prejudice in your favor. It understood you just as far as you wanted to be understood, believed in you as you would like to believe in yourself.”

I had no idea that the above quote was insinuating one’s most optimistic conception of themselves.

And that East Egg & West Egg were referring to the old aristocracy of America and the newly rich respectively, and the distinct differences drawn between them in terms of their perceptions, as well as references to the ironic social decay that was gradual despite the country’s booming riches in the pursuit of the idealistic American dream.

I’ve always liked these sort of themes for some reason, like stories set during or post war times. Still, the storyline must interest me because it’s hard reading stories set in the historic past when you’re struggling to live in the present and for the future. Context is so important!

972165_10151656730695923_1145217445_n

A picture of us from yesterday! While me & Yiwei were at the rooftop board at Vivocity just chatting while waiting for Joyce to knock off! Le Joyce is happily cropped in since we didn’t manage to take a photo of us 3 together, muahaha

Shall carry on nerding on literature analyses for the book before it’s time for lunch! So much to do at work today but I’m sneaking in some loafing cos it gets so boring at times. Shall talk about my little solo cafe adventure yesterday soon : D

The Great Gatsby

One thought on “The Great Gatsby

Leave a Reply

